Our Staff

Change to St Ignatius Parish Priest.

On Sunday 7th January 2024 we welcomed the Jesuit Fathers, including Fr Gregory Jacobs SJ (who was a part of the Jesuit Toowong community in 2009-2010 & 2012), who will be Parish Administrator of the Parishes of Toowong and Indooroopilly and Parish Priest for St Lucia, and joined by Associate Pastor, Fr Paul Fyfe SJ and Community Superior, Fr Frank Brennan SJ.

*Please note, on the above date Fr Wrex Woolnough celebrated his final Masses as Parish Priest of our parish.

We wish Fr Wrex all the best for his retirement.

We thank him for his time and service to our community over the past six-years.

Monica Florence

Parish Secretary

Monica provides key administrative support within the parish including safeguarding. She prepares and distributes our newsletter each Friday. Monica coordinates weddings in the parish and would love to hear from any bride or groom wanting to plan their wedding

E: toowong@bne.catholic.net.au     P: 3870 7818

Anne Rego

Pastoral Associate for the ‘Community of Communities’

Anne comes with a commitment to pastoral ministry, especially as the current lead of the sacramental program at Holy Family Parish, Indooroopilly. She understands the dynamics of governance and leadership as a member of the Indooroopilly Parish Pastoral Council.

Anne will continue to lead our sacramental programs, working with the teams in our three parishes. She will help to engage with our sense of being a synodal church on mission as we build our “community of communities” together. We thank her for accepting this position and look forward to her working closely alongside our three communities.

E: pw.toowong@bne.catholic.net.au     P: 3870 7818

Dr Anthony Young

Music Director

Dr. Anthony Young is the Director of Music at St. Ignatius Parish Toowong. He coordinates the music for the parish liturgies and leads the choirs at St Ignatius Church. Anthony assists with the preparation of key liturgical events for Christmas and Easter.

In his daytime job, he is the Coordinator of Culture & Solidarity and Music teacher at St. Laurence’s College in South Brisbane.

E: toowong@bne.catholic.net.au

Janine Curcuruto

Parish Safeguarding Representative

Janine promotes safeguarding messages and keeps the parish informed about safeguarding practices and initiatives in the Archdiocese of Brisbane.  She is available to assist with any safeguarding questions, concerns, disclosures, incidents or complaints.

E: lsr.toowong@bne.catholic.net.au

Pastoral Council

Stan Sielaff – Chairperson

Council members

  • Robyn Emerson
  • Ben Goodison
  • Mostyn Yong
  • Mary Anne Paddock
  • Joe Crowley

Ex Officio Members

  • Fr Greg Jacobs SJ – Parish Administrator
  • Fr Paul Fyfe – Associate Pastor
  • Duncan Maitland – School Principal
  • Anne Rego – Pastoral Associate

The Parish Pastoral Council meet on the FIRST Wednesday of each month at 7.30 pm in the Horstmann Room.

Finance & Development Committee

(tbc) – Chairperson

Committee members

  • Fr Greg Jacobs SJ – Parish Administrator
  • Bernard Rush
  • Simon Mitchell
  • James McKay
  • Greg Bahlmann

The Finance and Development Committee meets (approx.) every 6 weeks throughout the year. Membership is by invitation from the Parish Priest.

The Building Maintenance & Property Development group is a sub-committee of the Finance and Development CommitteeThis committee deals with the current and future plans for parish buildings and property maintenance and development.  Membership is by invitation from the Parish Priest. Meetings are held regularly throughout the year.